Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

DSC_0716_edited-1My Mom, Fyrne, made the best Pumpkin Pie ever. What I have done is change her method of cooking the pumpkins, from boiling to roasting. I’ve added more spices and eggs. This recipe makes the best Pumpkin Pie you’ll ever have. Despite the work it takes to roast your pumpkins, the flavor of fresh pumpkin is amazing.

After choosing a pumpkin at the farm, the pumpkin first becomes an object of art:557950_10201598298457481_179515576_n

Then the pumpkin is roasted*, skin separated, and the flesh is pureed.DSC_0714_edited-1 DSC_0715 DSC_0718_edited-1I place it in vacuum sealer bags in 4 cup amounts. Then I paper clip the top and flash freeze them on a baking sheet. When frozen, I clean the lips of the bags and vacuum seal them and place them back in the freezer until I need them.

Fyrne’s Pumpkin Pie (Cheryl Corrigan’s mom, Riley’s Grandma)

Makes 2 9” deep dish pies

4 C fresh roasted and pureed pumpkin

1 ½+ C sugar

1 t salt

1 t ginger

½ t nutmeg

4 t cinnamon

6 large or 5 extra large eggs

1 can evaporated lowfat milk

¾ C milk

Preheat oven to 450° F.

Combine thoroughly: pumpkin, sugar, salt, and spices

Add eggs, evaporated milk, and milk.

Beat well.

Pour into 2 9” inch pastry lined pie pans using pie crust shield for crust.

Bake 15 minutes at 450° then turn it to 325° and bake 40 minutes longer or until knife comes out clean.

To make smaller pies take an egg out and some milk and/or pumpkin.  I usually make this large recipe and if I have left over I put it in custard cups without a crust.

Bon Appetit!

  • To Roast Pumpkin:
  • Turn oven on to 400° F.
  • Cut pumpkin into pieces that can be placed on a baking sheet into the oven.
  • Place pumpkin on baking sheet and roast until as soft as a baked potato.
  • Take out and cool.
  • Peel skin off.
  • Place pumpkin flesh in a food processor and puree until smooth.
  • Divide into desired sizes to freeze. I usually make 2 pies at a time, 2 cups of pumpkin per pie.
