Tags

, , , ,

Happy 23rd!

Happy 23rd!

In our family, the birthday tradition is that you can have the dinner and dessert of your choice. The 23rd birthday of my firstborn occurred and the menu has not changed for many, many years:

Menu:

Hamburgers792525-hamburger-patties-grilling-on-a-barbecue--ready-for-the-summer-time-favorite buffalo-burger-toppings-lettuce-onions-tomatoes-pickles-300x225

Potato Salad

Fresh Vegies

Angel Food Cake with Strawberries and Whipped Cream

The difference in the menu is that it started with hotdogs and hamburgers and now is just hamburgers. The side dish is Chef’s Choice, so sometimes it’s beans, sometime Potato Salad, and sometimes whatever I feel like making. I know that the birthday boy will major on the burger and dessert.

This meal is so simple that I don’t have any recipes. I make the burgers ahead of time and place them in the freezer on a cookie sheet. After 4 hours I place them in a vacuum seal bag separated by parchment paper and seal them with my FoodSaver. When I am ready to use them I soak them in cold water in the sink until thawed. When they are partially thawed I take them out of the bag and place them on a tray or plate. I sprinkle them with the seasonings I desire (garlic, salt and pepper) and then they are ready to grill. When they are done I place a slice of cheese on those that want it and put them on the upper shelf of the grill. When they cheese has melted partially, I take them out and they are ready to serve!

See this site:

http://www.grillingcompanion.com/how-to-grill-hamburgers/#

Make sure all condiments are prepared beforehand. We like lettuce, tomatoes, dill pickle slices, onions, mustard, Longhorn BBQ sauce and ketchup. Create the condiment tray of your choice. At this party I purchased Longhorn Potato Salad as well. It is popular in this family!strawberry_shortcake

