Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Menu

Chili con Carne

Slow cooking creates melded flavors.

Rice

Spring Mix Salad

I won’t include recipes for rice or salad because you all know what that is and how to make it. This chili recipe is not necessarily authentic or real. This is handed down to me from my childhood and I incorporated it into my Cookday, in which we make meals for the freezer. I call it Cookday because we don’t do it Once a Month, but usually 5-6 times per year.

At the table, I topped my chili with sour cream, grated cheese, and cilantro. I placed it over brown rice. My mother served it over elbow macaroni, which we loved as children!

Recipes

Chili Con Carne (bag: crock pot meal)

2 pounds cooked  ground meat:  OR raw chicken or steak in bite size pieces

2 C chopped onion

1 C chopped celery

1 C red pepper, diced

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 t salt

1 t paprika

1 t oregano

1½ t cumin

1 t chili powder

¼ t ground cayenne pepper

1 T sugar

1/2 C beef stock

1 28 oz. can cut tomatoes

24 oz. canned kidney beans

24 oz. canned black beans

Label your cooked meat bag for the freezer in a freezer bag.

Combine all ingredients in the individual’s meat bag to freeze.

Cook on low for 8-10 hours or 5 hours on high in the crock pot. If thawed then you can also cook this in a Dutch oven or on the stove.

Great served with rice or pasta. Add your vegetables/salad and your done!

