Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Wild Salmon was purchased when I could get a great price on it. It was vacuum sealed in my Food Saver® and placed in the freezer. The marinade was also previously made and kept in the freezer.

Roasted Red Potatoes

Menu:

Baked Salmon

Herb and Garlic Roasted Red Potatoes

Steamed Asparagus

Fruit Salad

Recipes:

 

Timing the meal is something I’ve always had difficulty  with. I have improved with years of practice. Since the potatoes take so long I had enough time to complete the prep and cooking of the rest of the meal so that all would be complete simultaneously.

I made the meal in this order:

Herb and Garlic Roasted Red Potatoes

Cut red potatoes, washed with skin on, into bite size cubes.

Toss with enough of the marinade below to coat the potatoes on all sides.

Bake at 425° F for 45 -50 minutes. Toss again when halfway cooked.

Herb and Garlic Marinade(bag)

6 large garlic cloves
1/3 cup packed tender fresh thyme sprigs
1/4 cup packed fresh rosemary leaves
1 1/2 tablespoons coarse salt
3/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1 1/4 cups olive oil
Freshly ground black pepper

Mince together garlic, thyme sprigs, and rosemary with salt in a food processor or mash to a coarse paste.

In a bowl whisk together garlic paste and remaining ingredients until emulsified.

Put into bag.

Freeze.

Baked Salmon Plate

Baked Salmon

2 lbs. Salmon Filets, skin on (approx. 1/3 lb per person)

6 cloves garlic minced

1 lemon sliced in rounds

4 T fresh dill or 1 T dry dill

Brush olive oil onto the bottom of the pan.

Layer the pan with lemon slices and minced garlic.

Cut salmon filets to fit into the glass or ceramic baking pan you plan to use.

Sprinkle dill on meat side of filets.

Lay salmon, skin side up onto lemon slices. (Skin side is the fatty side. As it bakes the good fats will melt into the meat)

Set this aside until the last 15 minutes or so left on the potatoes.

Bake at 425° F for 10 -12 minutes. (The meat will cook once you take it out of the oven to rest. It’s important that you don’t overcook it or it will be dry)

 

Fruit Salad

Cut up fruit which you have available.

I used apples, home canned pears, fresh pineapple, and blueberries.

Stir fruit with enough Vanilla Yogurt to coat the fruit.

Set in refrigerator while you wait until meal time.

Steamed Asparagus

This is just as it states. I have one of those metal basket steamers. I test the asparagus with a fork for an al dente feel, then drain the water, take the basket out and place the asparagus into the pan. This time I put a little kosher salt, ground pepper, and fresh squeezed lemon on it while it sat until serving time.

NOTE:

As you will begin to see, I use what I have in the house to create the meal. I have a list of my freezer contents and their creation dates on the computer. Weekly or less I update the list by memory. I get the fruits and vegetables based on what is available at the stores in my area, most often what is on sale.

 

